Badia a Ruoti, set with the other powerful abbey of the valley, that of Agnano, the church is documented at 1076, when it adopted the camaldolese rule; the abbey had jurisdiction over numerous churches and monasteries between the Valdambra and the Senese.
Badia a Ruoti was stage of numerous infighting and wars, due to these, frequent sieges and raids badly reduced the abbey complex, thus forcing many structural changes to the monastery, which lost its true appearance in the seventeenth century.
Nowadays the numerous restorations have brought back to life the original form of the Abbey of San Pietro a Ruoti.
The church, in the frontage, has a hanging porch dating back to the eleventh century. The interior, with a form of latin cross, is a single nave completed by a semicircular apse; at the intersection of the nave with the transept rises a dome covered on the outside by a high octagonal lantern. Inside, in addition to fragmentary frescoes from the 16th century, we can find “Incoronazione della Vergine” of Neri Bicci (1472).
Walking on the cobblestones of the village, is possible immerse yourself in a pleasant atmosphere considering that the housing complex has remained unaltered over time. Around an enchanting nature in which we find also a beautiful secular tree: it is the unmistakable and gigantic English Oak of Badia a Ruoti, with its 27 meters and a circumference of over 4 meters.